Drunk driving is taken very seriously in California. Drivers who are impaired and are arrested will be facing significant penalties if they are convicted of a DUI. Anyone who is arrested and charged with a DUI will want to get in touch with a DUI defense attorney in South Bay, CA quickly.
General First Offense Penalties
A first offense can lead to up to six months in jail, $390 to $1,000 in fines, and a license suspension of up to six months. If the person refused to take a BAC (blood alcohol content) test, they could also face a year with a suspended license. An attorney can help the person minimize the penalties if they’re convicted or help them obtain a plea deal for a lesser charge to further minimize the penalties they’re facing.
Second and Subsequent Penalties
If the arrested person already has a DUI conviction, provided it’s within the last 10 years, they face up to one year in jail, $390 to $1,000 in fines, and a license suspension of up to two years. They may be able to get a hardship license so they can still get to work during that time. A third offense can lead to one year in jail, up to $1,800 in fines, and a license suspension of up to three years. For the third offense, defendants may be required to spend a minimum of 120 days in jail.
Underage or Commercial Drivers
In general, a driver with a BAC level of .08% or higher can be arrested and charged with a DUI. Those who are not old enough to drink, however, cannot have a BAC of more than .01%. This is due to the zero tolerance laws in California. Commercial drivers, likewise, have more strict BAC limits, as they cannot have a BAC of over .04% while driving a commercial vehicle.
If you’ve been arrested and charged with a DUI, you need help now. Do not hesitate to contact a DUI defense attorney in South Bay, CA so they can help minimize the penalties you’re facing. Visit the website of Shook & Associates Inc today to learn more and to find the help you need.