Massachusetts laws require that all drivers possess no-fault as well as liability auto insurance. This coverage is needed to cut down on the probability of litigation. Values for coverage required are $20,000 for each injury with a maximum of $40,000. They should also have $5,000 for property damage and $8,000 in personal injury protection. If you were injured in an accident in which you didn’t share any blame, you should contact auto accident attorneys Brockton today.
Filing a Claim for Accident Injuries
All victims who are injured in Massachusetts during an automobile accident have a limit of three years to file a claim against the other driver or their insurance company. However, it is advisable to file a claim with the insurance company before taking legal action. If the claim doesn’t require an in-depth investigation, the insurance provider should provide a decision quickly.
When an investigation is necessary, the insurance agency is, in fact, determining whether or not the victim shared any fault in the accident. If the insurance provider establishes that the fault is shared, they will pay only a portion of their expenses. The same is true when it comes to litigation. If a judge determines that the comparative fault rules apply in their case, then the judge will reduce the settlement based on the percentage of fault assigned. If the judge establishes that the victim is fifty percent at fault, he or she will not receive any monetary compensation. Click here for more details about the experienced auto accident attorney in Brockton.
Any driver involved in an automobile accident that is not compliant with local automobile insurance laws is subject to penalties. This includes the victim. The penalties begin with a $300 fine, license suspension, and suspension of vehicle registration. If you were injured in an accident by an uninsured driver, you should contact auto accident attorneys Brockton and file a claim.
Accident victims receive compensation for their injuries and property damage by filing a claim through the insurance provider or by filing a lawsuit. Although Massachusetts is considered a no-fault state, they can file a claim to fight for a monetary award. If you need legal assistance with a personal injury claim, you should contact The Law Office of Bruce S. Raphel today.